Instructions- Bryan Alexander – The Visible College: Four futures for Higher Education – Choose one of Alexander’s four views of higher education in 2022 (this part of begins at the 37th minute of the talk) and imagine how your life will be in such a society. Since you will most likely be finished with university by then, I’d like you to talk about imagined personal and professional life. You will have to build from Alexander’s model how society as a whole might be under the particular future scenario you choose.

Process: I chose the The Lost Decade portion of Alexander’s presentation because, it was something that I feel is all to familiar for me. The way I grew up in the United States during the 90’s was not that far off from what was said about his senario for 2022. The public school system was terrible, crime was high, people didnt have real career choices and there was basically no where to go. My only option for higher education was joining the military and that was before the post 9/11 G.I Bill was installed for military vets. I consider myself very lucky that even though I grew up on the wrong side of town my Parents were always around and taking care of me the best that they could. I am here in Tokyo now and it still amazes me… To think that some people hate it here just mind boggles me because live a day where I am from and you will call Tokyo a paradise.

The year is 2022, I have returned to the USA after graduating from TUJ in 2013. At first finding a job wasnt that hard because of my Military backround and education. However, as the years continued on having the military backround and degree wasnt enough to stand out because everyone had the same qualities. Jobs have become so competative and scarce that I have become self-employed, I own a land scaping business. I am forced to rent out a cheap trailer and can barely buy the mulch I need to do my job. My wife has left me and has custody of my three beautiful children whom I adore. I have taken other measures to earn money and started drug dealing in my trailer park. Cops never go there because its so dangerous. I now go by the alias of O’G and I pretty much run the trailer park. The rival trailer park is trying to take over so me and the boys are constantly in shoot outs.

One day on April 19th, 2022 I wake up from a car alarm going off from down the way where the entrance to the trailer park is. I grab my 20-gauge(slug shot) and peek through the curtain of my trailer park home. There are four men dressed in all black, and they look as if they are going to force-enter into a home and rob it. So I rush outside and start shooting. Three of the men flee, but I managed to shoot one of them. He is wearing a ski-mask and his blood is everywhere. I lift his mask and to my suprise it is a teenage boy. He is coughing up blood and I dial 911. I get an answering machine that tells me “I’m sorry, due to cutbacks on local funding this number is no longer available in your area, please try to reach the local sheriff or drive to the nearest hospital in case of emergancy, in case of a fire please stay away from the fire hazard area” I hang up and manage to get the boy into my trailer. I remove the bullet from the boy’s body and sanitize the wound, I then stitch his wound with my sewing kit allowing him to make it to the hospital.

The next day I hop in my pick up truck and drive 2 and a half hours to the nearest hospital where I drop him off in the emergancy drive way. I never seen him again. On my way back to the trailer park I see mobs vandalizing stores everywhere. It is complete and total chaos. I turn on the radio and tune in to a speech from the president who is calling a state of emergancy and has proclaimed that the US government is no longer in control.

This is the world I live in, in 2022, kill or be killed.

